CFMC Caribbean Miguel Rolon

Executive Director Marcos Hanke



Gulf of Mexico Dr. Carrie Simmons Executive Director Thomas Frazer Chair



Mid Atlantic Dr. Christopher Moore Executive Director Mike Luisi Chair New England Fishery Management Council

New England Thomas Nies Executive Director Dr. John Quinn



North Pacific David Witherell Executive Director Simon Kinneen



Pacific Chuck Tracy Executive Director Marc Gorelnik



South Atlantic John Carmichael Executive Director Mel Bell Chair



Western Pacific Kitty Simonds Executive Director Taotasi Archie Soliai Chair



Agenda Item C.1 Supplemental Attachment 5 November 2020

November 6, 2020

Mr. Chris Oliver Assistant Administrator for Fisheries NOAA Fisheries 1315 East-West Highway Silver Spring, MD 20910

Dear Chris,

The Council Coordinating Committee (CCC) at its virtual meeting on September 23-24, 2020, established a subcommittee to develop recommendations to the NMFS internal working group on guidance to implement the new National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) regulations as they relate to the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act (MSA), including functional equivalency.

The Regional Fishery Management Councils (RFMCs) must meet NEPA requirements on the actions taken by the RFMCs and implemented through MSA. As such, it is important the RFMCs understand and have early and meaningful contributions to discussions in the development of guidance for the implementation of the new NEPA rule. We appreciate your continued support in ensuring CCC and RFMCs engagement in improving the application of NEPA for Council actions under the MSA, and look forward to working with NMFS in developing the new guidance.

Sincerely,

Taotasi Archie Soliai, Chair Western Pacific Fishery Management Council

Phil Anderson, Chair

Pacific Fishery Management Council

Dr/John Quinn, Chairman New England Fishery Management Council Council

gun trun

Simon Kinneen, Chair North Pacific Fishery Management Council Council

Jula

Mike Luisi, Chair Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council

Mario Hanke

Marcos Henke, Chair Caribbean Fishery Management Council

Melin Bel

Mel Bell, Chair South Atlantic Fishery Management

Thomas & Frazer

Dr. Thomas Frazer, Chair Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management