MEMBERSHIP APPOINTMENTS; STATEMENT OF ORGANIZATION, PRACTICES, AND PROCEDURES; AND COUNCIL OPERATING PROCEDURES

During this agenda item, the Council has the opportunity to consider Administrative appointment issues with regard to the Council Membership Roster, including Council Members, advisory body membership, and also any relevant changes in Council Operating Procedures (COP) or the Council's Statement of Organization, Practices, and Procedures (SOPP).

Council Members and Designees

Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife

Mr. Kelly Susewind, Director of the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) sent a letter to the Council informing the Council that Ms. Michele Culver has accepted the WDFW Rules Coordinator position and will no longer be serving as a designee (Agenda Item C.4.a, WDFW Report 1). Director Susewind has appointed Ms. Heather Hall to join Mr. Kyle Adicks and Mr. Corey Niles as his Council designees.

United States Fish and Wildlife Service

At the November 2019 Council meeting, the United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) submitted a letter informing the Council of their intent to add Mr. David Teuscher and Mr. Tom Sinclair as USFWS designees on the Council and the Habitat Committee (HC) (Agenda Item C.4.a, USFWS Report 1). Due to unavoidable circumstances, the USFWS was unable to send a representative to the November Council meeting and the Council postponed a discussion of this matter until the March 2020 meeting. Currently, the USFWS has six appointed Council designees: Mr. Michael Clark, Mr. Roy Elicker, Dr. Kyle Hanson, Dr. Denise Hawkins, Mr. John Netto, and Mr. Roger Root. Regarding the HC, Mr. Clark serves as the USFWS representative and Ms. Hawkins is an HC designee.

Council Advisory Body Appointments

The Council solicited nominations for Advisory Body positions over the winter and the following nominations were received by the February 10th deadline.

Coastal Pelagic Species Advisory Subpanel (CPSAS)

The Council solicited nominations for the Washington Commercial position vacated by Mr. Daniel Crome.

 Mr. Andrew Babich, commercial fisherman operating F/V Ocean Dream out of Gig Harbor, Washington, has been nominated by CPSAS member Mr. Ryan Kapp (Agenda Item A.1.a, Attachment 1).

Ecosystem Advisory Subpanel (EAS)

The Council solicited nominations for two EAS vacancies; the California position formerly held by Dr. Pete Adams and the Washington position formerly held by Mr. Paul Dye. No nominations were received for the Washington vacancy.

The Council received five nominations for the California vacancy:

- Mr. Barry Cohen, a commercial fisherman and processor and former member of the Groundfish Advisory Subpanel from San Jose, California, was nominated by Mr. Bill James (Agenda Item A.1.a, Attachment 2).
- Mr. Peter Repanich, a commercial fisherman operating F/V SockeyeSummer out of Bodega Bay, California, nominated himself (Agenda Item A.1.a, Attachment 3).
- Mr. Tom Schiff, a recreational fisherman and retiree from San Diego, California, nominated himself (Agenda Item A.1.a, Attachment 4).
- Dr. William Sydeman, the President and Senior Scientist of the Farallon Institute from Petaluma, California, was nominated by Dr. Jeffrey Dorman, the Executive Director of the Farallon Institute (Agenda Item A.1.a, Attachment 5).
- Ms. Deborah Wilson-Vandenberg, retired California Department of Fish and Wildlife Senior Scientist and former member of several Council Advisory Bodies including the Ad Hoc Ecosystem Workgroup, nominated herself (Agenda Item A.1.a, Attachment 6).

Groundfish Advisory Subpanel (GAP)

The Council solicited nominations for the Open Access North of Cape Mendocino position vacated by Mr. Jeff Miles.

Mr. Harrison Ibach, a commercial fisherman from Crescent City, California nominated himself for with the support of the Pacific Coast Federation of Fisherman's Associations, the Cloudburst Fishing Company, the Humboldt Fishermen's Marketing Association Board of Directors, and commercial fisherman Mr. John Koeppen (Agenda Item A.1.a, Attachment 7).

Groundfish Management Team (GMT)

WDFW has nominated Ms. Whitney Roberts to fill the WDFW position on the GMT formerly held by Ms. Heather Hall (Agenda Item A.1.a, Attachment 8). The Scientific and Statistical Committee (SSC) is scheduled to review this nomination and report to the Council under Closed Session.

Scientific and Statistical Committee (SSC)

The Council solicited nominations for the vacant At-Large position on the SSC. The Council received the following three nominations. The SSC is scheduled to review these nominations and report to the Council under Closed Session.

- Dr. Lorenzo Ciannelli, a Professor at the College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences at Oregon State University, nominated himself (Agenda Item A.1.a, Attachment 9).
- Ms. Oriana Poindexter, an affiliate of the Southwest Fisheries Science Center (SWFSC) and a Senior Fisheries Fellow at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, was nominated by Dr. Stephen Stohs, an Economist at the SWFSC (Agenda Item A.1.a, Attachment 10).
- Dr. Will White, an Assistant Professor at the Department of Fisheries and Wildlife at Oregon State University, nominated himself (Agenda Item A.1.a, Attachment 11).

New and Existing Vacancies

In February, Ms. Linda Buell resigned her Northern Charter Boat Operator position on the Highly Migratory Species Advisory Subpanel (HMSAS). The Council will discuss the matter at the March Council meeting and will consider opening a nomination period for this vacancy thereafter.

Changes to Council Operations and Procedures

There were no proposed changes to the COPs or the SOPPs at the time of the advance Briefing Book.

Council Action:

- 1. Consider adopting any changes or additions to the COPs.
- 2. Consider any appointment and membership issues.

Reference Materials:

- 1. Agenda Item C.4.a, WDFW Report 1.
- 2. Agenda Item C.4.a, USFWS Report 1.
- 3. Closed Session A.1.a, Attachment 1: Babich, CPSAS Nomination.
- 4. Closed Session A.1.a, Attachment 2: Cohen, EAS Nomination.
- 5. Closed Session A.1.a, Attachment 3: Repanich, EAS Nomination.
- 6. Closed Session A.1.a, Attachment 4: Schiff, EAS Nomination.
- 7. Closed Session A.1.a, Attachment 5: Sydeman, EAS Nomination.
- 8. Closed Session A.1.a, Attachment 6: Wilson-Vandenberg, EAS Nomination.
- 9. Closed Session A.1.a, Attachment 7: Ibach, GAP Nomination
- 10. Closed Session A.1.a, Attachment 8: Roberts, GMT Nomination.
- 11. Closed Session A.1.a, Attachment 9: Ciannelli, SSC Nomination.
- 12. Closed Session A.1.a, Attachment 10: Poindexter, SSC Nomination.
- 13. Closed Session A.1.a, Attachment 11: White, SSC Nomination.
- 14. If received, Public Comments are electronic only (see e-portal).

Agenda Order:

C.4 Membership Appointments; Statement of Organization, Practices, and Procedures; and Council Operating Procedures

Mike Burner

- a. Reports and Comments of Management Entities and Advisory Bodies
- b. Public Comment
- c. Council Action: Consider Appointments to Council Committees and Advisory Bodies; Adopt Changes to Council Operating Procedures and Statement of Organization, Practices, and Procedures, As Necessary

PFMC 2/12/20