PROPOSED AGENDA Scientific and Statistical Committee

Pacific Fishery Management Council Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa Laguna Beach 1 and 2 Room 3050 Bristol St. Costa Mesa, CA 92626 Telephone: 714-540-7000

November 14-15, 2017

Scientific and Statistical Committee (SSC) meetings are open to the public, and public comments will be accepted during the scheduled public comment period. Public comment at times other than the established public comment period will be taken at the discretion of the SSC Chair.

Committee member work assignments are noted in parentheses at the end of each agenda item. The first name listed is the discussion leader and the second, the rapporteur. A suggestion for the amount of time each agenda item should take is provided. All times are approximate and subject to change. At the time the agenda is approved, priorities can be set and these times revised. Discussion leaders should determine whether more or less time is required, and request the agenda be amended.

TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 14, 2017 - 8 AM

A. Call to Order-SSC Administrative Matters

- 1. Call to Order and Introductions
- 2. Report of the Executive Director
- 3. Approve Agenda and September 2017 Minutes
- 4. Subcommittee Assignments Current assignments are listed at the end of this agenda
- 5. Open Discussion and Future Meeting Planning (8 a.m., 1.5 hours) No Report to Council

G. Council Administrative Matters

4. Membership Appointments and Council Operating Procedures (SSC Closed Session) (9:30 a.m., 0.5 hours) Report to the Council on Wednesday (Closed Executive Session)

D. Salmon Management

2. Methodology Review Final Approval Robin Ehlke and Galen Johnson (10 a.m.; 0.5 hours; Shelton, Johnson) Report to Council on Wednesday

Will Satterthwaite

Chuck Tracy

C. Coastal Pelagic Species Management

- 2018 Exempted Fishing Permits (EFPs) Notice of Intent

 a. Collaborative CPS Survey OR and WA
 b. Collaborative CPS Survey CA
 b. Collaborative CPS Survey CA
 c. (10:30 a.m.; 1 hour; Brown, Key) Report to Council on Wednesday
- 3. Methodology Review Preliminary Topic Selection Kerry Griffin (11:30 a.m.; 0.5 hours; **Byrne, Hamel**) *Report to Council on Wednesday*

LUNCH (12-1:15 p.m.)

F. Groundfish Management

- 10. Off-Year Science and Stock Assessment Methodology Review Final Topic Selection John DeVore (1:15 p.m.; 1.5 hours; **Budrick, Sampson**) Joint Session with the Groundfish Management Team in the Laguna 1 and 2 Room; Report to Council on Sunday
- 4. Final Stock Assessments and Rebuilding Analyses Dave Sampson (2:45 p.m.; 1 hour; **Berger, Punt**) *Joint Session with the Groundfish Management Team in the Laguna 1 and 2 Room; Report to Council on Friday*

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

3:45 p.m. (or immediately following Agenda Item F.4) Public comments, including comments on issues <u>not</u> on the agenda, are accepted at this time.

A. SSC Administrative Matters, continued

6. Review Statements

WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 15, 2017 - 8 AM

A. SSC Administrative Matters, continued

7. Review Statements (8 a.m., 1 hour)

F. Groundfish Management, continued

- 6. Biennial Harvest Specifications for 2019-2020 John DeVore (9 a.m.; 1 hour; **Tsou, Field**) *Report to Council on Friday*
- 11. Electronic Monitoring Final Halibut Discard Mortality Rates, Discard Species List, and Third Party Review Brett Wiedoff, Patrick Mirick, and Jessi Doerpinghaus (10 a.m.; 1 hour; Harte, Holland) Report to Council on Sunday

A. SSC Administrative Matters, continued

8. Research and Data Needs Planning (11 a.m., 1 hour; **Satterthwaite, Speir**)

LUNCH (12-1:15 p.m.)

9. Review Statements (1:15 p.m.)

ADJOURN

SSC Subcommittee Assignments, November 2017

Salmon	Groundfish	Coastal Pelagic Species	Highly Migratory Species	Economics	Ecosystem- Based Management
Galen Johnson	David Sampson	André Punt	Aaron Berger	Cameron Speir	Martin Dorn
John Budrick	Aaron Berger	Aaron Berger	John Field	Michael Harte	Evelyn Brown
Alan Byrne	John Budrick	Evelyn Brown	Michael Harte	Dan Holland	John Field
Owen Hamel	Martin Dorn	John Budrick	Dan Holland	André Punt	Michael Harte
Michael Harte	John Field	Alan Byrne	André Punt	David Sampson	Dan Holland
Will Satterthwaite	Owen Hamel	John Field	David Sampson		Galen Johnson
Ole Shelton	André Punt	Owen Hamel			André Punt
Cameron Speir	Tien-Shui Tsou	Will Satterthwaite			Will Satterthwaite
		Tien-Shui Tsou			Ole Shelton
					Cameron Speir
					Tien-Shui Tsou

Bold denotes Subcommittee Chairperson

PFMC 10/20/17