#### MEMBERSHIP APPOINTMENTS AND COUNCIL OPERATING PROCEDURES

During this agenda item, the Pacific Fishery Management Council (Council) has the opportunity to consider Administrative appointment issues with regard to the Council Membership Roster, including Council Members and advisory body membership, and also any relevant changes in Council Operating Procedures (COPs) or the Council's Statement of Organization, Practices, and Procedures.

## **Council Members and Designees**

Effective August 11, 2017, Mr. Brad Pettinger has been appointed to one of the Council's at-large seats and Mr. Rich Lincoln has been reappointed to the Washington Obligatory seat by the Secretary of Commerce.

Director Charlton Bonham has updated his designees for the California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW). Mr. John Ugoretz has been added as a sixth designee, the other CDFW designees remain unchanged (Closed Session A.1, Attachment 1).

## Council Advisory Body Appointments

### Scientific and Statistical Committee

At its June 2017 meeting, the Council directed staff to solicit nominations for a newly-created atlarge seat on the Scientific and Statistical Committee (SSC) to replace an Alaska Fisheries Science Center seat currently held by Dr. Martin Dorn. The successful candidate will serve out the remainder of the 2016-2018 Council advisory body term. The Council is interested in filing the new at-large seat in advance of Dr. Dorn's anticipated departure from the SSC on November 30, 2017. As of the nomination deadline, Council staff received four nominations, Dr. Derek Dapp (Closed Session A.1, Attachment 2), Dr. Rishi Sharma (Closed Session A.1, Attachment 3), Ms. Meisha Key (Closed Session A.1, Attachment 4), and Dr. Jason Shaffler (Closed Session A.1, Attachment 5).

Due to workload constraints, the National Marine Fisheries Service Southwest Fisheries Science Center (SWFSC) wishes to replace Dr. Kevin Piner with Dr. John Field, who is currently occupying an at-large seat (Closed Session A.1, Attachment 6). This move results in one additional at-large vacancy on the SSC.

# Salmon Technical Team and the Model Evaluation Workgroup

The California Department of Fish and Wildlife has nominated Mr. Alex Letvin to fill the CDFW seats on the Salmon Technical Team (STT) and the Model Evaluation Workgroup (MEW) vacated by Mr. Brett Kormos (Closed Session A.1, Attachment 7).

# Groundfish Management Team (GMT)

The California Department of Fish and Wildlife has nominated Ms. Melissa Mandrup to fill the vacant CDFW seat previously held by Mr. Bob Leos (Closed Session A.1, Attachment 8).

The National Marine Fisheries Service Northwest Fisheries Science Center (NWFSC) has nominated Dr. Kayleigh Somers to fill the vacant NWFSC seat previously held by Mr. Jerry Leonard (Closed Session A.1, Attachment 9).

The National Marine Fisheries Service SWFSC has nominated Dr. Andrew Thompson to fill the vacant SWFSC seat previously held by Dr. Melissa Monk (Closed Session A.1, Attachment 10).

## Changes to Council Operating Procedures

At this meeting under Agenda Item J.4, the Council is considering amendments to the biennial management cycle and activities related to highly migratory species (HMS) management through Amendment 4 to the HMS Fishery Management Plan. If the Council approves these changes under Agenda Item J.4, the Council may also consider adopting the accompanying changes to Schedule 5 for HMS under COP 9 (Agenda Item H.4, Attachment 1), contingent upon future approval of Amendment 4 by the Secretary of Commerce.

### **Council Action:**

- 1. Consider any appointment and membership issues, including the nominations for the vacant at-large seats on the SSC, CDFW seats on the STT and MEW, CDFW, NWFSC and SWFSC seats on the GMT.
- 2. Consider any changes or additions to Council Operating Procedures.

### Reference Materials:

- 1. Agenda Item H.4, Attachment 1: Proposed Revisions to Schedule 5 of COP 9.
- 2. Closed Session A.1, Attachment 1: CDFW Council Designees.
- 3. Closed Session A.1, Attachment 2: Dapp SSC Nomination.
- 4. Closed Session A.1, Attachment 3: Sharma SSC Nomination.
- 5. Closed Session A.1, Attachment 4: Key SSC Nomination.
- 6. Closed Session A.1, Attachment 5: Shaffler SSC Nomination.
- 7. Closed Session A.1, Attachment 6: SWFSC SSC Seat.
- 8. Closed Session A.1, Attachment 7: Letvin STT and MEW Nomination.
- 9. Closed Session A.1, Attachment 8: Mandrup GMT Nomination.
- 10. Closed Session A.1, Attachment 9: Somers GMT Nomination.
- 11. Closed Session A.1, Attachment 10: Thompson GMT Nomination.

### Agenda Order:

- H.4 Membership Appointments and Council Operating Procedures
- Mike Burner
- a. Reports and Comments of Advisory Bodies and Management Entities
- b. Public Comment.
- c. **Council Action:** Consider Appointments to Council Committees and Advisory Bodies; Adopt Changes to Council Operating Procedures

PFMC 08/18/17