MEMBERSHIP APPOINTMENTS AND COUNCIL OPERATING PROCEDURES

During this agenda item, the Pacific Fishery Management Council (Council) has the opportunity to consider Administrative appointment issues with regard to the Council Membership Roster, including Council Members, advisory body membership, and also any relevant changes in Council Operating Procedures (COP) or the Council's Statement of Organization, Practices, and Procedures (SOPP).

Council Members and Designees

Effective August 11, 2016, Mr. Marc Gorelnik has been appointed to the Council's at-large seat by the Secretary of Commerce.

Standing Council Member Committees

Dr. Steve Freese, Mr. Pete Hassemer, Council Chair Herb Pollard, and Ms. Marci Yaremko have been appointed to the Budget Committee. Ms. Dorothy Lowman will serve as the Acting Chair of the Budget Committee.

Council Chair Herb Pollard will serve on the Legislative Committee.

Council Advisory Body Appointments

Salmon Advisory Subpanel (SAS)

As of the Briefing book deadline, Council staff received two new nominations for the vacant California Sport Fisheries seat on the SAS, Dr. Sean O'Rourke (Closed Session A.1, Attachment 1) and Mr. Jim Yarnall (Closed Session A.1, Attachment 2).

Ad Hoc Groundfish Committees

Ad Hoc Community Advisory Board for the Five-Year Review of the Trawl Catch Share Program (Individual Fishing Quotas and At-Sea Co-Ops)

At its June meeting, the Council established the Ad Hoc Community Advisory Board (CAB) and began soliciting nominations for qualified candidates shortly thereafter. The CAB is charged with providing the perspective of fishing communities on performance of the trawl catch share program, potential improvements, and other advice requested by the Council that may inform the program review.

As of the Briefing Book deadline for the September Council meeting the following nominations (Closed Session A.1, Attachment 3) were received for the following positions (number of individuals to be appointed to each position in parenthesis):

Shoreside Trawl, Individual Fishing Quota (IFQ) Program Participants

Washington (1)

• Mr. Andrew Bornstein

Oregon (2)

- Mr. Andrew Bornstein
- Mr. Mark Cooper
- Mr. Richard Lilienthal
- Mr. Brad Pettinger
- Mr. Mike Retherford
- Mr. Robert Smith

California (2)

- Mr. Chris Kubiak
- Ms. Michelle Norvell

Shoreside Nontrawl, IFQ Program Participant (Gear Switched) (1)

- Mr. Paul Clampitt
- Mr. Richard Lilienthal
- Ms. Michele Longo-Eder

At-sea Co-op Participants

Catcher-Processor (1)

• Mr. Dan Waldeck

Mothership Processor (1)

• Mr. James Mize

Mothership Catcher Vessel (1)

- Mr. Kurt Cochran
- Mr. Nate Stone

Shoreside Buyers/Processors (3)

- Mr. Andrew Bornstein
- Mr. Tom Libby
- Mr. Mike Okoniewski

At-large (3)

- Mr. Ed Backus
- Mr. Andrew Bornstein
- Mr. LB Boydstun
- Mr. Richard Carroll
- Mr. Robert Dooley
- Mr. David Jincks
- Mr. Shems Jud
- Mr. Chris Kubiak
- Mr. Steve Scheiblauer
- Mr. Dave Smith

At-large seats may represent a variety of perspectives, including: service providers, local governmentalities, retailers, crew members, non-governmental organizations, or other interests (including fishermen that do not participate in the trawl catch share program).

CHANGES TO COUNCIL OPERATING PROCEDURES

As of the briefing book deadline, there were no proposals to modify the Council Operating Procedures.

Council Action:

- 1. Consider any appointment and membership issues.
- 2. Consider any changes or additions to Council Operating Procedures.

Reference Materials:

- 1. Closed Session A.1, Attachment 1: O'Rourke SAS Nomination.
- 2. Closed Session A.1, Attachment 2: Yarnall SAS Nomination.
- 3. Closed Session A.1, Attachment 3: Ad Hoc Community Advisory Board Nominations.

Agenda Order:

G.5 Membership Appointments and Council Operating Procedures

Mike Burner

- a. Reports and Comments of Advisory Bodies and Management Entities
- b. Public Comment
- c. Council Action: Consider Appointments to Council Committees and Advisory Bodies; Adopt Changes to Council Operating Procedures

PFMC 08/25/16