Draft COP 1 Budget Committee Membership Guidelines

Proposed changes to COP 1 related to membership terms for the Budget Committee, which is a standing committee made up of Council members. According to the Council's Statement of Organization, Practices, and Procedures (SOPP), standing committee members are appointed by the Council Chair and can consist of Council members or a combination of Council and non-Council members.

There are no COP guiding membership for the Budget Committee or other standing committees. Since at least the year 2000, the BC has always included the Council Chair, the Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission (PSMFC) designee, and the National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) Regional designee(s), and has variably included between one and four other Council members. Starting in November 2006, one seat has been designated for collective representation of the three coastal state agencies.

The following language was proposed by the BC for Council consideration as an additional section for inclusion in COP 1:

STANDING COMMITTEES

Standing committees can consist of Council members or a combination of Council and non-Council members. Members are appointed by the Council Chair and serve indefinite terms.

Budget Committee

The Budget Committee shall be composed of Council members or Council-member designees and have no more than seven members, among whom include:

- The Council Chair:
- One member from each state, which could be an agency director/designee, an obligatory or at-large appointee. The Council Chair could serve as one of these members;
- One at-large member
- A representative of the Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission and;
- A representative of the National Marine Fisheries Service West Coast Region.

The Budget Committee shall elect its chair and vice-chair from among its members. Appointments and election of officers shall generally occur at the June or September Council meetings.

PFMC 06/02/16